More and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Shopping has become more accessible than it has ever been. As a result, people have access to more brands and companies that produce luxury items. Owning products from a well-known producer have become important to express a person's belief and portray their lifestyle. This has led people to buy more vehicles, apparel and unique items from reputed brands. To begin with, maintaining our status in society is becoming more vital and individuals do it in different forms. One of the factors that help them to display their taste and status is by spending money on merchandise produced by famous companies. This helps to show others the extent of money they have to spend on luxury items including automobiles, jewellery and fashion. Additionally, people believe that well-known brands manufacture have better quality of products as compared to local or generic items in the market. For example, most of the people would rather purchase branded jeans from Levis than shopping at their local retail store. To my mind, migration of people towards specific organisations and establishments has had a negative impact on the economy and our society. Owning items from these establishments has resulted in a drop of revenue for local vendors. As a result, local businesses are struggling to remain open and serve the community. Furthermore, with lack of competition necessary things such as clothing and personal care items price will increase as there will be no homegrown alternative. To conclude, purchasing branded goods can lead to a monopoly and paralyze the consumer goods market. People need to invest in the neighbourhood stores so that the big labels cannot dominate and the prices are not inflated for much needed consumer goods.