Despite the benefits for health, fewer people today than ever before exercise by walking. Why is this? What can be done to encourage more walking?

It is often argued that small numbers of people are using the walk as a workout nowadays although it has a positive impact on their health. The main reason for this problem is that people do not have time for walking, but this issue can be solved by running national campaigns to motivate them to walk more often. One of the significant causes for this trend is that time is not a helpful factor for individuals who want to practice walking. This is because they have immense responsibilities related to their working and personal life, which prevent them from finding a space for a short walk in their schedule. For instance, employees who are working for more than ten hours could not find time to get out for a walk because their job tasks are confined their desire for exercising this activity. This would shift their attention to another type of workout that can be done at their place. To stimulate citizens toward walking, the government would launch local campaigns on all social media platforms. The government could use popular social media influencers to urge people to add walking to their workout routine. Dubai government is a prime example, where it launches an annual campaign encouraging residents to walk thirty minutes for thirty days. This initiative has attracted thousands of individuals to join the campaign as all of the celebrities and politicians have promoted this event on their official social media pages. To sum up, it can be seen that lower numbers of people practice walking because they are suffering from finding adequate time for doing this activity. However, the government could change this situation by setting up a local campaign that promotes the importance of walking for human well-being.