In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is a fact that in some nations around the world, youngsters are advised that they should take a gap year between graduating from high school and entering the higher education period. This essay will shed light in the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. There are some certain positive aspects of taking a gap year. First and foremost, traveling or working brings much valuable experiences and knowledge for youngsters. Working helps them know how to communicate with customers or how to deal with a handsome salary. Besides the experiences of working, traveling helps them widen their knowledge about the culture, cuisine or recharge the batteries after a hard working period. In addition, life experiences also make them feel more confident before university time. Another advantage of working and traveling is that teenagers will connect with lots of friends around the world. As a result, they not only acquire essential soft skills such as communication skills or problem-solving skills from the workplace but also widen their social circle. Despite the aforementioned benefits, working and traveling after high school completion also have some weaknesses. It is obvious that if young people do not have clear plans for the trips or do not research carefully the workplaces before working, they will waste their time. As a consequence, after one year, they look back and they release that there is nothing valuable during that time. In conclusion, taking a break from studying has both positive and negative aspects. Youngsters will learn many valuable lessons but they also will lose momentum in studying. In my opinion, to have a memorized gap year, teenagers should have clear plans about what they really want to do.