Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued by some that both society and individuals are heavily effected by social platforms, and that effect is a negative one. This essay completely agrees with this statement, mainly because it can potentially reduce the amount of physical activity that people regularly perform and due to the danger involved in online shaming. Firstly, spending too much time on social networking sites could lead to a decrease in the amount of physical activity. Individuals can become addicted to social platforms such as Facebook or Youtube and as a consequence to spend the majority of their spare time on the computer or smartphone rather than go runnig or performing other types of sports activity. This trend could lead to obesity and numerous health conditions. For example, since my wife has downloaded the Instagram application to her phone, the number of times she goes out to run have been significantly reduced. Furthermore, social networking sites might have an adverse effect on children’s self-esteem due to online shaming. This is simply because there is currently not enough regulation on what people post on various sites and certain posts can be substantially harmful. For instance, last year, one of my son’s friends tried to kill himself following a false rumor regarding his sexual identitiy, which was published on one of the most popular social platforms. In conclusion, I strongly believe that networking sites convey a negative impact on people and on the society as a whole, due to the fact it can reduce the amount of sports that people do and therefore to negatively affect their health, and also because online shaming can lead to serious confidence problems among children.