Many of the countries believe that international tourism has harmful effects. Why do they think so?what can be done to change their views

Is international tourism a threat to one's country? This is the belief of most countries. The reason being first, it can be harmful to the local culture. Second, there can be exploitation of nature reserves. Certain measures can be taken by the government to alleviate these concerns as international tourism can be a boon to a nation’s economy. The same shall be discussed further in this essay. The reasons several countries think international tourism may have damaging effects are as follows. Firstly, local languages will be affected. For example, one common language to communicate will be used as a tourist will not understand local languages. Hence, the local language will be extinct. Secondly, due to tourists there will be an increase in pollution be it land,water or air, apart from the perilous effect on natural resources. For instance, studies on environmental pollution have shown that littering tourist destinations with plastic items has increased 200 times what it was in the last twenty years. However, the government can control these problems by ensuring strict rules and regulations. An example is: schools and universities should provide and promote knowledge of their own customs, traditions and languages in order to preserve local traditions and language. Another example is the implementation of the environmental protection act, which can limit pollution and penalise polluting miscreants for damaging the ecology of a place. Needless to say, international travel will be beneficial to the economy as there will be an increase in transportation services and hotels, and restaurants business will be benefitted thus increasing employment for local people, hence increasing the overall development of a geographic location. In conclusion, although certain problems like cultural threats and environmental deterioration are a concern of several nations due to international touristry, applying appropriate measures to solve them can be beneficial to one's homeland in terms of economic growth.