some people say that modern innovations bring a lot more problems than benefits? Do you agree or disagree?

Technology is developing at a fast pace. Despite the fact that modern technology has created environmental and social problems, I believe that the convenience and even the safety it has brought to human lives far outweigh its disadvantages. In this essay, I will elaborate on my view. On the one hand, the ever developing / advancing technology is beneficial to us. Firstly, no other technology has had such a great impact on human lives than the internet which is believed to have revolutionized our lives. For instance, people can now purchase goods with a few taps on their mobile screen. The process is made fast and efficient by eliminating the time used in travelling to physical shops. Likewise, innovations in transportation technology have made distances irrelevant. People can now travel anywhere in the world. Actually, mankind is now busy preparing for space travel and colonization. Advancements in the medical field have saved countless lives. Vaccines, for example, are a miracle of science that saved millions of children from the clutches of life. On the other hand, the demerits of modern inventions can be many. Firstly, the rapid development of technology has created pollution and is devastating to biodiversity. To illustrate, urban encroachment and the daily operation of factories worldwide have damaged the habitats of hundreds and thousands of animals. Scientists worldwide have warned that further destruction to biodiversity is harmful to human beings as it will expose us to insufficient food, medicine and water supply in the near future. Secondly, the invention of internet and computers is addictive. When people spend more time glued to their screens, they have less time left for face to face interactions. Social relationship thus is hampered. To conclude, technological innovations certainly have some downsides; however, it is preposterous to claim that innovations have more demerits than merits.