In many countries around the world, rural people are oving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

At present, economically difficult communities in remote areas migrate to urban areas in many nations, hence, the number of people residing in villages is dropping. This essay will examine negativities such as environmental pollution and job scarcity in big cities, therefore, In my point of view, I believe it is a negative growth. To commence with, the most important factor is the damage which happens to the nature of the metropolitan areas with the increasing number of residents. Because when the population get boosted up more accomodations are built without proper sanitation facilities. For example, the Kelani River which is located in the capital city of Sri Lanka has been polluted from the garbage disposed of the people who have moved from villages that have constructed temporary houses. Waterways are hence contaminated by such inhabitants from the countryside resulting a negative growth in the nature of the cities. Moreover, overcrowding of villagers can result in a lack of job opportunities hence making residents financially unstable. Living in a big city is costly compared to their living expenses in a rural area. If these families become jobless due to this phenomenon, it will be a huge destruction. Take New Delhi in India as an example, it attracts many remote individuals due to its popularity for better salaries. Having said that, today New Delhi is facing a huge crisis because of the increased number of unemployed citizens. Thus loss of career options due to overcrowding might cause an economic crisis. In conclusion,negativities like environmental contamination such as water pollution and scarcity of jobs can result in consequences of the migration of countryside residents to cities. In my opinion, therefore, it has become a negative growth.