It has been noted that many people who had a big impact on the world gave themselves completely to their work and did not bother with the idea of “work-life balance”. To what extent should people try to have a good work-life balance? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

A lot of people who significantly impacted the world devoted their whole time to their work and did not pay attention to a recently invented term work-life balance. I think that in a modern world it is necessary for everyone to effectively split and manage their time because it is highly unlikely that without a proper work-life balance one will attain high results and become happy. First of all, harmony in any sphere of life is essential for staying active and motivated. A jobless person without an engaging challenging job might lose a desire to live as inner energy is not used or wasted on useless activities. Also, it is often noted that people who involved in a job that may change others' lives are happier and more satisfied. In other words, without work, most individuals may feel unsatisfied and depressed. For instance, some surveys claim that many young volunteers feel happier than their peers because they see positive results and feedback from their work. Furthermore, a good work-life balance prevents some hard-working employees from overwork. Overworking may lead to burnout which is an underrated mental disorder. Moreover, the number of people facing this issue is constantly rising around the globe. However, if a person properly organizes his work and rest hours, this problem is highly likely to be avoided. For example, a recent article from Google about the performance of their employees mentioned that workers who passed a specifically designed course about work and life balance significantly increased their productivity. In conclusion, I believe that every person should pay close attention to the time spent on work and do not neglect their personal time. I would recommend reading popular literature about work-life balance and integrate the ideas as early as possible.