Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society . To what extent do you agree?

The use of social networking sites in our society has drastically increased in recent years. This development has affected individuals positively and negatively. Therefore, I do not completely agree with the belief that social media has created more harm than good for the population. To name a few, Facebook, Instagram, Tinder, Tik Tok etc, are commonly used in recent times especially among young adults. This has resulted in some advantageous developments like connecting people from different parts of the world, providing job opportunities and enabling romantic relationship formation. To expatiate, it has made the world a smaller place so that individuals can learn about different cultures from the comfort of their homes, these platforms also create an environment for people to display their talents eventually increasing self-employment and finding love. Therefore, these websites definitely have their benefits. In contrast, the presence of such platforms has caused a lack of interpersonal communication among citizens, an increased rate of cyberbullying and internet addiction in adolescents. In other words, most people spend most of their time on the internet instead of engaging in more active offline activities. Children spend more time on Facebook and Youtube than with their peers, affecting their social communication skills, making them vulnerable to cyberbullies and taking time away from educational activities. These disadvantages have an impact on our lives but does it outweigh the benefits of social media? In conclusion, these sites can be beneficial and harmful to our communities. Therefore, they should be used in moderation.