Some people believe that today everyone has a right to access the internet and the governments should provide this access for free. Other people believe that access to the internet is not a right and should be paid for like other services. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

THE INTERNET HAS TRULY REVOLUTIONIZED NEARLY EVERY ASPECTS OF OUR LIVES AND FOR THAT, SOME PEOPLE CONCLUDE THAT ITS PROVISION SHOULD BE MADE FREE FOR ALL AT THE GOVERNMENT 'S EXPENSE. OTHERS, HOWEVER BELIEVE THAT INTERNET CONNECTIVITY IS NOT A RIGHT, HENCE PAYMENT SHOULD BE SHOULDERED BY ITS USERS. IN THIS ESSAY I WILL DISCUSS BOTH THE GIVEN PERSPECTIVE AND EXPLAIN MY SUPPORT FOR THE LATTER VIEW. THERE ARE SALIENT REASONS WHY THE INTERNET CONNECTION IS CONSIDERED BY SOME A RIGHT. FIRSTLY, COMMUNICATION THESE DAYS ARE CARRIED OUT MAJORLY VIA THE INTERNET. HENCE THE CREATION OF COUNTLESS SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORMS LIKE WHATSAPP OR MESSENGER FOR PRIVATE COMMUNICATION TO ZOOM AND WECHAT APPLICATION FOR TELECONFERENCING AMONGST BUSINESSMEN AND THE LIKES. ADDITIONALLY, REMOTE EDUCATION AND WORK-FROM-HOME SERVICES ARE NOW BECOMING MORE APPARENT THROUGH THE USE OF THE WORLD WIDE WEB. VIRTUAL SHOPPING AS WELL HAS MADE LIFE SIMPLER AND LESS TEDIOUS. AS NEARLY EVERYTHING CAN NOW BE MADE POSSIBLE THROUGH THIS WEB, IT IS THEREFORE JUST BUT RIGHT FOR THE state TO GIVE public CONNECTIVITY THAT WOULD TREMENDOUSLY IMPROVE THEIR LIVES. ON THE OTHER HAND, ONE CAN LIVE WITHOUT THE INTERNET CONNECTION. IT IS, THEREFORE, NOT A NECESSITY TO LIVE. NOT AS ESSENTIAL AS WATER, AIR, FOOD AND HEALTH THAT ASSURES HUMAN EXISTENCE. TO OBLIGATE THE GOVERNMENT TO PAY FOR FREE INTERNET CONNECTION FOR ITS PEOPLE IS AN UTTER DISSIPATION OF TAXPAYER'S MONEY AS THERE ARE OTHER MORE SIGNIFICANT EXPENDITURES FOR THE GOVERNMENT TO SPEND UPON. SUCH AS EDUCATION, HEALTH, AGRICULTURE AND INFRASTRUCTURES. IN MY OPINION, THE IMPORTANCE OF THE INTERNET IN THE MODERN SOCIETY IS UNDENIABLE. HOWEVER, ITS UTILITY IS DESPENSABLE. MEANING, ONE CAN LIVE HEALTHILY WITHOUT THIS MODERN INFRASTRUCTURE. WHEREAS, IMPORTANT PUBLIC SECTORS MENTIONED ABOVE NEEDS MORE FUNDING FOR ITS DEVELOPMENT SO THAT THE GENERAL PUBLIC AS A WHOLE WIOULD BE BENEFITTED. TO RECAPITULATE, WHILE THE ESSENTIALITY OF THE "WEB" IS CONSIDERED, HUMAN WILL CONTINUE TO EXIST. MAKING IT FREE FOR PUBLIC USE AT THE EXPENSE OF GOVERNMENT FUNDING IS IMPRACTICAL AS THERE ARE OTHER FAR MORE IMPORTANT SECTORS THAT NEEDS MORE FUNDING TO ASSURE THE WELL-BEING AND EXISTENCE OF ITS PEOPLE.