Nowadays youngsters are less polite and less respectful than in the past. What do you think are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this issue?

It is undeniably true that the issue of millennial’s moral values has gained traction among the intellects in society. These days there is an inexorable increase in the number of youngsters who are found to be ruder and more disrespectful. This essay intends to delve into why younger ones are more ill-mannered and what are the reasonably practicable measures to work through this problem. Unfortunately, the questions that concern me is how the restricted scope of the school curriculum in terms of not including strict disciplining methods compounds the problem? Schools are compelled to give lenient punishments which are not enough to teach lessons to the child who continues taking the system for granted and therefore behaves in an uncultured way. Statistics reveal there has been a huge surge in the number of complaints raised against tutors who either scold or cane the students for misbehaviour. What is a more serious concern, the young population has been adversely influenced by the onscreen content broadcasted by films and Television. In other words, the content is full of violence, aggression, vulgarity and foul language, taking a toll upon the young brains who replicate the same behaviour. Having said that, in order to mitigate such issues, it is extremely critical to think about how we can bring a drastic change in dealing with such youth? Predominantly, punishments need to be set in proportion to the extent and seriousness of the mistake committed by younger ones who would be scared to misbehave with elders and be more responsible about their attitude. The school authorities could include, either moral sciences training or, behavioural improvement programs in academic education. For instance, countries that implemented moral education at the primary level have seen a magnificent change in the behavioural traits of the youth of the country. One non-negotiable approach is, censor board should intervene and regulate the content broadcasted by the media houses as well as taking action against producers of such contents, which will ensure that the young adolescents are not exposed to objectionable content that can provoke or incite them into violence and resulting into ill-mannerism. In conclusion, even though rising concerns over inadequate scope in school curriculum on moral values and adverse effect of uncontrollable media content, no one can undermine the effectiveness of the measures, such as strong punishment, the inclusion of moral lessons and censorship on contents. Unless children are disciplined, the overall progress and development of the nation will be a farfetched dream.