Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people pay attention to what they wear. Although there are claims that the way people choose their clothes signifies their culture and personality to a great deal, I completely disagree and believe there are other contributing factors. A person’s clothes do not reflect their culture and character because people are not necessarily what they wear. Firstly, a majority of fashion choices are influenced by various factors, such as the media, fashion trends, circle of friends, the person’s budget and so on. For example, I have always done my shopping for clothes while being accompanied by a friend, and have mostly relied on their suggestions for choosing a piece of clothing. Secondly, some people may tailor their appearance based on the impression they want to leave on others. They could receive a different reaction from their clients, for instance, wearing an expensive suit. So a person’s clothes does not likely indicate their culture and character a lot. Other criteria are far more important when considering other peoples’ culture and character. These include their behavior and reaction under certain circumstances, and also their social interactions. To illustrate, when faced with a crisis, people might disregard their cultural norms. This can be seen in the footage of some nation-wide robberies in some countries during the Covid pandemic outbreak. In addition, there is no guarantee that a homeless person would break their promise, or that a business executive would keep theirs. Therefore, there are underlying factors which play a more important role in deciding a person’s culture and character. In conclusion, some people think that a lot can be inferred from a person’s culture and personality based on how they choose their clothes. I wholeheartedly disagree, and feel that other factors like harsh circumstances affect peoples’ cultures and character.