Some people believe that social media should be considered as a reliable provider of information, while others argue that social media is the main source of false news and disinformation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that social media should be considered as a reliable provider of information, while others argue that social media is the main source of false news and disinformation. I support the latter view and I will explain the reasons for that in my essay. There are some people who believe that we can get all news from social media in an unbiased and veracious form. They argue that unlike state media /TV, social media cannot be under the influence of state propaganda. As a result of press freedom in social media platforms, it is possible to get truthful and reliable information from disinterested parties. The supporters of this view argue that social media platforms do not have any interests to spread false news for the favor of certain political groups. However,other people, including me believe that it is unreasonable to consider social media as a reliable source of information. First of all, unlike state-run media there are not relevant mechanisms which control the veracity of information provided in social media platforms. It is also important to take into account that not only journalists, but also ordinary citizens spread data in social media and in most cases the reliability of this news is not checked. Besides, from my point of view, there are also some social media platforms which do not seem to serve interests of any party, however, in reality these platforms are bribed from certain politicans to spread news for the favour of latter ones. In conclusion, while some people support the view that we can rely on social media as a provider of reliable information, I believe that we cannot rely on social media as it often spreads fake news.