Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally-friendly mode of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the all wider population?

As people are more concerned about their health and environment-related problems, riding a bicycle is the best solution they think. But this primary source of transport lost its popularity for decades in many countries. In this essay, I will examine the factors behind this drift and suggest ways to encourage more people to use a bicycle more widely. There are two primary reasons behind the decline in a bicycle ride. The first one is cycle is the slowest mode of transport. In today's fast-paced life, everyone wants to do their daily activities like work, travel, and business quickly. As a result, they choose a car or bike to commute instead of a cycle which is slower than the vehicles mentioned above. Another factor is many think that riding a bicycle is not safe in cities with heavy traffic. In other words, people scare that on roads, there is a chance of an accident if they ride cycle among heavy vehicles. Take the example of Mumbai city, where already so many accidents happen daily, travelling with a bicycle is a clearly dangerous thing to do. However, some measures can persuade people to use a bicycle more frequently. One of the solutions is to provide separate cycling lanes for cyclists. Sufficient bicycle lanes in a city will encourage many residents to ride it for their daily commuting. Denmark, for example, has extensive bicycling routes, which has positively encouraged citizens to cycle whenever possible. Another less simple solution is government officials should set standards by using a bicycle daily while commuting to their workplaces. If government authorities use this transport to travel to offices, it is hoped that the public will also follow the example. To conclude, for a fast life and safe travels use of bicycle has been declined which is a primary concern now. Therefore, a government has a significant role to play in motivating its citizens to use cycles, and this would guarantee a green environment and a healthy nation.