These days, many cities have problems when they grow quickly, such as accidents and traffic jams. Why do these problems occur? How do these problems impact people who travel for work or study?

Nowadays, many cities have seen an increasing number of growth-induced problems like high rates of road incidents, which can be attributed to mismanagement of city infrastructure funding. This has become a major concern as they hinder students and workers from travelling across towns effectively. One way to address the question of the impact of fast development on road infrastructure is to recognise that the funds from city councils are being used ineffectively. If money were to be distributed equitably, it could result in better road conditions for rapidly expanding areas. For example, the city of Tokyo has seen exponential advancement over the last few decades, despite that the local government policies pertaining to fund allocation are such that road incidents are at their lowest ever in history. Hence, smarter budget division leads to safer roads. Not only does this issue cause travel delays, but it also contributes to inapproachable travel situations. As a result, aspiring jobs and courses may seem far from reach due to the considerable risk of losing time in traffic, or worse, life-changing injuries. These potential obstacles slow down the functions of the economy. For instance, metropolises with effective public transport systems like trams and trains, which shorten commute times, have the most influx of skilled labour and tertiary students, such as Melbourne and Sydney. In conclusion, problems like road accidents and traffic delays in developing cities primarily arise from fund misappropriation. While the immediate effects include increased travel times, the long-term repercussions, such as slower economic growth, are far more serious. Whereas the causes may be difficult to address, understanding the consequences is essential for effective policy-making.