Stores should sell local food products and not the imported food products. Do you agree or disagree?

Food items are the prime concern for people while visiting grocery stores. I strongly agree with the notion that shops should sell local eatables concerning its positive impacts on economy and secondly other attributes associated with food products such as price and lesser shelf life as compared to imported products which are indispensable while purchasing such items followed by a reasoned conclusion. To start with, food is the basic necessity of life and people spend almost 30% of their income on consumption of food. According to empirical research by Revenue Board of Pakistan revealed that if local food consumption increases, the revenue generated from the sale can be ploughed back in economy. As a result, economy will flourish and other sectors and infrastructure will improve with tandem. Thus, stores should only sell and promote local food commodities and local manufacturers so income generated will rotate within the nation which would foster economic growth. Another insight that must not be neglected, the characteristics of food items specifically shelf life, transportation guidelines, and expiry date. For instance, recent news broadcast on Pakistan news channels, a sad demise of 2 children due to consumption of imported food from a restaurant. Initial investigation report confirmed that though, product was not expired but somehow mishandled during transit (might be exposure to sun) causes the growth of bacteria which lead to expiry of young ones. Consistent with this line of thinking, it is agreed that shops must offer local products because there are less chances of perishing, have greater expiry dates and can transport with an ease as per instructions. To conclude, shops must sell local food items because it not only promotes economy but are also effective in terms of shelf life and transportation. Any negligence in food purchase can lead to fatal consequences.