some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that the appearance of new buildings in megapolises should be regulated by governments. Meanwhile, others believe that ones who invest money into the construction of a building should be able to design it as they want. I think that those who finance the construction should not be limited in their choice because it is their resources that are used. On the one hand, some people think the design of all constructions in big cities should be controlled by the administration. This is due to the fact that those buildings may not align with the general architecture and distort the impression of a city. In my opinion, this has nothing to do with architecture, and the diversity of colours and styles are highly likely to make any megapolis even more attractive to tourists and inhabitants. For instance, Saint-Petersburg is famous for its' streets with absolutely different constructions of different height. On the other hand, others would argue that people who finance the construction of a new building should decide future appearance and style. This is because a great amount of financial resources belongs to the investors. From my perspective, this is the right approach as it may increase the interest of potential investors. For example, in Moscow, the number of foreign companies financing the construction of business centres significantly increased after cancelling the standards for the design of buildings. In conclusion, while many people believe that there should be restrictions from governments in the design of newly constructed buildings, I personally reckon that investors should be free in their plans and realisations as unordinary appearance may have positive effects in the future.