With growing populations in cities, more and more people live in homes with little or no outdoor space. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Due to the ever-increasing population, it is observed that many people reside in apartments with no place for recreational activities. In my opinion, it is vital to have sufficient space for families. Firstly, the expansion of urban areas has led to deforestation and loss of farmlands, and to reduce the impact on farms and forests, humans have resorted to living in flats. A concept wherein an area is allotted to an individual within tall buildings. The carpet area is just enough to construct a living room, a kitchen, and one or two bedrooms with no room for anything else. It leads to nuclear families, which has its consequences. Connection with important people is lost resulting in seclusion ans isolation. Secondly, these days youngsters do not have access to any playgrounds where they can enjoy playing sports with other children of their age. They tend to lose out on their precious time by staying inside the house, not socializing and spending time with their peers but instead forced to stay indoors and in front of the screen. With no physical activity, the impact is seen on the health of the youth as one tends to gain weight and become lazy in nature resulting in various health issues. In conclusion, apartments and flats could be a possible solution to save the environment, but it has a downside. Populaces living in such places have health-related problems to deal with, be it physical or psychological, as fewer space results in lesser physical activities and social interactions even though humans are inherent to be social animals.