The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most popular language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

As a part of globalisation, English has become the most widely spoken language around the world. While there are many benefits to using English as a global language, it also has some negative effects. To begin with, one of the main advantages of having one global language is that it will reduce the gap between the countries as there is no communication barrier. It helps to form a stronger relationship among the nations. As a result, international trades such as the importing and exporting of goods will increase and benefit the growth of the economy around the globe. Furthermore, English helps people to travel around the world without experiencing any difficulties. Many tourists find it hard to communicate with the native people for their simple needs such as asking for directions, ordering food etc. These issues will be solved if there is only one language. On the other hand, there are many drawbacks to this trend. Language is a part of every culture. If everyone spoke one language, the other local languages will disappear gradually. Then, there would be no cultural diversity. One of the main reasons that attract tourists to other countries is that their cultural differences. If everyone has the same culture, there is no meaning in visiting other places. So this trend can have negative impacts on the tourism industry. To conclude, although there are some negative sides to having a single global language, it brings many benefits such as the growth of international business and economy. In my opinion, the advantages of having one global language far outweigh its disadvantages.