Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

In modern-day society, we witness only a small group of people who still prefer to go to their destination by walking, even when it is relatively close. This behaviour may be triggered by the road’s constructions that are not pedestrian friendly and the unavailability of convenient public transportation. In this essay, we will talk about how building a walkable city is a huge investment to stop this phenomenon. There is no doubt that the public will choose the most convenient way to travel, be it by foot, car, or bus. For instance, citizens of Bandung, Indonesia, might prefer to drive a car than walk as there is little to no infrastructure for pedestrians and limited routes of public transportation to access farther place. Hence, society will choose private vehicles over doing extra work to go on foot. To cope with this problem, the government ought to use its authority to build the needed infrastructure to encourage citizens to walk. This long-term decision will bring a lot of benefits, namely a healthier population as walking is such a profound physical activity, not to mention less carbon emission from the use of private automobiles. Thus, this solution will stay relevant to solve this problem. In conclusion, the lack of pedestrian-friendly facilities is the perpetrator of how public refuses to travel by walking. However, as citizen’s habit is only the product of regulations made by the authorities, they should change the root cause by building a walkable city in order to encourage society to walk again.