In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

The search for one's ancestry is increasing in prevalence in certain parts of the world and this can be attributed to the sense of wanting to belong somewhere. In my opinion, knowing your roots can positively influence your life. Most developed countries are a cosmopolitan society, therefore, people are raised in a multicultural way with no single culture to identify with. This means that there is a lack of belonging to any of these cultures, resulting in a loss of identity in teenage years and adulthood especially. For instance, most teenagers always want to be a part of something and identify with a certain race or adults going through mid-life crisis are always in a search of their origin. The high rate of racism in these societies makes it much easier for individuals to question their beginnings. In the same vein, missing, orphaned or adopted individuals, in search of their parents are also curious about their ancestry and the advancement of science and technology has made genetic testing possible. In other words, these people can put their genetic information with the police for example and if someone is looking for them, they can find a match through that information. This development can aid to unite families and help cultural diverse people find their roots. Aforementioned, researching one's history can be beneficial to them and society as a whole. This provides a sense of belonging to them and increases awareness of different cultures, eventually results in a better understanding among communities. Finally, I believe knowledge about our origins and different cultures can decrease racism consequently, this is a positive development.