In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with Other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes The government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from Your own knowledge or experience.

In the ultra-modern society, elderly people moving to old age homes has become a regular practice owing to the lack of time and care given at home. In order to keep them safe and healthy at such places the expenses are more often paid by their heirs and sometimes by the authorities. In my opinion, both government and children are responsible to pay for such care. The following testament would elucidate both the statements with apt specimens and justifications. To embark with, the strata of society believe that it is the sole responsibility of the state to take care of old people after their retirement, as they have paid taxes to the authorities their entire life. For example, a working person pays around 40% of their wage on monthly basis in the form of tax to the state, to help to build an advanced nation. Hence, it becomes the obligation of the nation to take care of them, who have helped to build the state over the years. Thus, it becomes apparent that government should pay for the care of elderly people. On the other hand, the detractors do not believe the same, as they feel it is a moral duty of children to look after their parents at such age, as they have guided them to a better life. For instance, an average parent invests their money and time in education and various aspects to raise them, so that they can lead a better lifestyle. Sadly, it can rarely be seen in society as they are being sent to old age homes by their kids to spend the rest of their life. Therefore, it is clear that kids are ought to look after their parents when they need company and care. In a nutshell, although both the standpoints have their own valid justifications, yet I believe it can be solved by the best foot forward of both nation and children to contribute to support such places where their parents or grandparents can spend their rest of the life healthy and happy.