More and more people are finding it increasingly important to wear fashionable clothes. Is this attitude to wearing clothes a positive development or negative?

Are glamourous clothes a current trend? Many people are attracted to fashionable clothes and are trying to include them in their lifestyle. This can have a positive impact to some extent. However, it can also be a negative development. This essay will examine both points of view with relevant examples. On the positive side, clothes are considered as a status symbol and many people, be it young or old, try to experiment with styles that are flaunted by celebrities. For example, the common man will be allured by the classy attire which celebrities wear and would like to have similar ones, no matter how pricey they may be. Wearing such stylish outfits will be pleasing to the eyes of friends and family and make them popular. However, on the negative side, all the branded and popular fashions might not be comfortable and fit everyone. Furthermore, even simple dresses and suits can be expensive, just because they have a brand name, thus not affordable for everyone. Despite this, people might want to purchase it in order to impress others by sporting high class branded clothing. For instance, a young girl will buy a famous line of clothing and a costly outfit just to impress her friends, even though she might have to borrow money to buy it. To conclude, indeed fashionable wear is considered prestigious and individuals buy it because it gives them honour and respect in society. Nevertheless, not all glamourous garments are worth buying just to build an image of yourself in the community. Hence, an individual needs to exercise discretion when deciding on the kind of apparel to wear, the criteria being the occasion that will justify the brand and the cost.