Films and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have negative effect on society and should be banned. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary world, media is at the fingertips of everyone. Some people are fond of exploring flicks and games which contain outright violence. This is becoming more and more popular through the smartphones. On one hand, there are certain views that these games or movies have deleterious consequences and should be restricted. On the other hand, there are some perspectives against it. This essay tries to investigate both the arguments and state an opinion on it. To begin with, Violence in any form can desensitize vulnerable populations. When they watch violent cinemas or play games which contain graphic content, it makes them prone to aggressive behaviour and reduces empathy towards others. It can also contribute to the normalization of violence as an acceptable method of conflict resolution. For instance, an American schoolboy shot his colleagues after a conflict between them, which was motivated by a famous video game, named PubG. In addition, this should be banned to maintain social health and well-being. For example, they should be limited to a mature audience with clear warnings similar to tobacco and alcohol, which pose risks to health. Hence, one can say that violence in the games and movies is a threat to social harmony and they should be intervened well. On the contrary, Many users observe the media as a means to relieve stress and as entertainment. The majority of the consumers can distinguish between reels and reality very well. They think that engaging in violent games or films can offer a harmless outlet for frustrations. Moreover, any kind of restrictions warrant the mitigation of freedom of expression and creativity, The makers should be able to explore all themes, including violence for storytelling. To conclude, although there are some inadvertent effects of violence on the silver screen and video games, they should not be censored. Instead, better parenting and education can mitigate the ill effects.