To succeed in a business, one needs to be good at maths. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that maths is an essential skill in order to do well in business. I partly disagree with this notion because although basic maths is required to properly run a business, more complex maths can be outsourced. Basic maths is an integral part of running a business. Success in business requires a broad range of knowledge including finance and accounting which both use maths. Business owners should have a solid understanding of basic arithmetic as well as algebra in order to run their business effectively. In addition, maths is required when performing business operations like accounting, inventory management, and forecasting sales. However, strong maths skills are not required to do well in the business field. While maths is undeniably an important part of running a business, it is possible to outsource this skill. This includes hiring an individual skilled in the financial side of the business as well as using spreadsheets and computer programs that will do financial models for business owners. Though using spreadsheets does require a basic understanding of the principles of finance and maths, it does not require a high level of math skills in areas such as calculus. Moreover, maths is a broad field that encompasses a number of subtopics such as geometry, calculus, algebra, and statistics. Not all of these areas are required when running a business. In conclusion, I partly disagree with the notion that business success requires strong maths skills. While many aspects of business do require basic maths skills such as finance and accounting, being good at all types of maths is not a requirement. Furthermore, many higher-level maths skills can be outsourced.