In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a home with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In order to live independently or with friends, the trend of leaving parental home after completing high school studies in several nations is being followed by youngsters across the globe. This will have fruitful consequences in future by making youth independent, reducing stress on parents and boosting the country’s economy. Living on their own makes a person self-reliant. This is because they will have to keep everything organized for themselves in their new abodes besides facing the hardships of life on their own; consequently, it propels youngsters to acquire money management, decision making and organizing skills. In addition to children becoming self-dependent, their parents ’ burden will decrease. Since they will not have to look after their offspring’s needs all the time, now, they will be able to pursue their long-held passions along with enjoying privacy. In a study, parents living alone were found to be having far less mental pressure than those residing with their children. Moreover, it will result in monetary growth of the nation. The reason behind the same is the requirement of spending on rents and earning to afford the same for the youth, leading to more circulation of money, which in turn will add to the exchequer, thereby, enabling the government to spend more on the public infrastructure and facilities. For instance, had children above 18 of USA not started living separately, the country’s GDP would not have risen by two times. In conclusion, owing to its outcomes of independent youth, carefree parents and financial development of the country, the decision of youngsters to live away from parents after secondary education is a positive advancement.