Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why it is not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

It is apparent that riding a bicycle, which is supposed to be the most habitually congenial amongst men, is becoming a controversial topic. This essay will discuss reasons why people do not prefer to travel by bike and some measures will be recommended to improve this situation. To begin with, the two significant excuses are the inconvenience and the unsafety of driving a bicycle. Perhaps the major cause why residents rather use other means to travel is that it takes extremely much time and energy. For example, the average speed of cycling is ten kilometres per hour, which is quite slow compared to driving a car or motorbike, and the driver spends at least one hundred calories for four kilometres of riding. Additionally, bike users are seriously vulnerable when using the same road as other transports. When cyclists intend to take a turn without carelessness, they are easily conflicted. Some possible solutions which can be carried out to mitigate these drawbacks and motivate inhabitants to use bikes are constructing facilities prioritizing bikers and encouraging civilians to buy accessories for pedal travellers. Firstly, officials should lay out plans which are correlated with bridge construction, biker-prioritized lanes and underground roads, it may help to lower the volume of transport on the road at the same time. As a result, the number of accidents may be reduced. Besides, States can spread information on the necessity of environmental protection through public media which can raise awareness of the negative impacts of fuel or fossil-consuming vehicles. Consequently, there are likely several positive changes in people's perspective on travelling by bike instead of car or motorbike. In conclusion, despite bikes’ positive impact on the environment, it is still not uncommon in many places recently, however, it can still be changed thanks to the government’s actions.