People nowadays work hard to buy more things. This has made our life generally more comfortable but it is a pity many traditional values have been lost on the way to such materialism. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In the modern era, everyone wants to live a comfortable and wealthy lifestyle and attain various amenities they try to work hard, which has resulted in unethical approaches. However, there are few people who follow their traditional values. Firstly, the sole cause of materialism is tough competition in today's world, everyone tries to do better and get better than their competitors. Additionally, they try to achieve their materialistic life by hook or crook even by following an unethical path. For instance, if a person is planning to buy a bungalow and shares the same plan with his colleague, the latter will definitely think of purchasing a mansion better than the former. On the other hand, there exists still few people who try to live life comfortably by balancing traditional value and materialistic life. For example, Mark Zuckerberg the chief executive officer of Facebook is one of the wealthiest men in the world yet he wears similar casual clothes every day. Hence he has created his own way of upbringing his ancestral values and live a luxurious life at the same time. To conclude, working hard and struggling is important to live a comfortable life but one should always follow the ethical standards set by him or her.