Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while other believes that it is the responsibility of individuals to protect themselves. Discuss both side and give your opinion:

Some people reckon that individuals are responsible for protecting themselves; on the other hand, some others believe that the government should do preventive measures to avoid committing a crime. But, which one has more importance? The role of government or self-protection? In the modern era, every country has own laws and its citizens must respect them and obviously the government has a duty to protect law-abiding citizens. Moreover, before considering punishment for offenders, the government must provide people with a suitable education and preventive measures; otherwise, the community will become to a forest where the strength talks with no rules and this advanced world that we have will be destroyed in couple of months. Therefore, the government has a major role to fight against criminals and I reckon that it is a must for any human society that has a system for keeping lawbreakers under control. In contrast, there are some people who think self-protection is the priority of a community for standing against crimes. In my view, people must respect laws and do which preventive measures that the government has recommended; but, the government has to protect them and make society safe. Needless to say, certainly it's better for people to be able to protect themselves but it is not a necessity for them. In conclusion, about dealing with offenders the government has a major role; however, people must respect laws and do their duties as a citizen. Eventually, in my opinion, the government must provide safety to people and should fight versus crimes.