More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent time, it has been evidently noticed that the majority of the companies are shifting to the trend of working from home instead of the office. Some people support this idea by stating that this not only saves time and cost but also spare more time for the family, whereas, others think that some technical faults are the loopholes for this notion to execute which does not give results. This essay will analyse the positives and negatives of working remotely. Firstly, the idea of working from home is very beneficial to the employees. Because it saves the daily travelling time and efforts of a person. Employees can indulge themselves in developing their skills by utilising this time.Over and above that, it also saves the travelling cost which can be utilised for the investment. Moreover, this also allows giving more time to the family which very essential. For example, I am working from home 3 days a week and getting enough time to join extracurricular activities such as dance and yoga for myself. On the other hand, sometimes working can home be ineffective and may not be feasible to execute. People might face internet issue and may not be able to work properly. Thus, leads to waste of time and unproductivity. Additionally, Managers might not be able to track the activities of their subordinates. Hence, it will be difficult to measure the performance as employees can do their personal work at home. In Mumbai, for instance, many places does not have good wifi connectivity and people face a tremendous amount of network issues which results in unproductivity. To sum up, companies are adapting work from policy increasingly.I think, Although, there are some drawbacks of it such as network issues and performance measurement, there are more benefits of it like saving cost and time which can be utilised in a better manner. This trend will be supported more in the coming future by all organisations.