Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the past few decades, there has been a profound interest in the different techniques of learning. On one side of the spectrum, there are those that argue that memorising facts is the best way to be victorious in education. However, others, myself included, oppose this idea and instead highlight the need for understanding the topic along with recalling is a better way to succeed in school. To begin, there is an argument to be made that students tend to memorise information in order to retain facts for the exam, however when they stop recalling the information, it is difficult to remember what they learnt. To exemplify, a five-year study done by Oxford University found that medical students who learnt information by committing to memory in their first year failed to remember the same information five years later. This idea stems from the fact that memorising information can be great for the short term, however, if individual hope to retain the information for the long term, then alongside memorising, the learner should also understand the topic. Nonetheless, despite the need for understanding the subject, many believe, in some aspects of learning, one needs to memorise in order to remember the information. To illustrate this point, studies by the education board in the USA have shown that, many children have been taught to memorise mathematics timetables in order to recall that information. Maths is one of those subjects that requires learning by heart in order to remember information in the future. This being the case, when taking into consideration different techniques of studying, it is hardly surprising that many tend to use the same way of learning for other subjects. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, while some are under the impression that, remembering facts is the most important way to succeed, others, including myself, hold the view that in order to flourish in learning one needs to use different methods of learning, rather than just relying on memorising.