More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programmes to get their news and instead read online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are relying on online news portals for acquiring information. Consequently, the following of print media, as well as broadcasting media, has been declining significantly. This essay will argue why the growing use of online media has more negative effects than the positive aspects it has. To begin with, readers can instantly get updated news of different corner of the world by dint of internet. Since people are often able to surf any news portals from their portable devices without any charges, these save a considerable amount of time and money for the audiences. For instance, a large number of netizens are getting news and videos from different web portals. Furthermore, social media, including Facebook, have a wide range of pages, specialized in circulating news and information. Thus, news portals and social media are a convenient way of receiving news, which is why the use of the internet for having news and videos has been soaring. Despite few positive aspects, the growing use of news portals, as well diminishing popularity of print and television media, have many drawbacks. As web publishers have less accountability and responsibility to society, news and videos of these online media might be frequently found as rumour and hoax. In contrast, news agencies and television channels are often proved to be more dependable, because they are more trustworthy in publishing news. To illustrate, Arab spring, one of the massive protest against the rulers of different countries of the middle-east, was taken place due to the rumour of the news portal. Therefore, soaring utilization of news portals can cause an unruly situation in the world due to a smaller amount of reliability. In conclusion, the number of individuals who are accustomed to browsing the internet so as to receive news and information is rising, while the popularity of printed newspaper and news on television channel has been decreasing. I think that the wide popularity of online media and less use of other media have many negative sides. New ideas should be generated in order to enhance the popularity of more reliable media, such as newspaper and television news.