Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulty getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause ? What can be done about lack of sleep?

Presently, a lot of individuals complain about insomnia. The inability to sleep can increase daytime somnolence, however, to improve the quality of sleep a person could get especially at night, it is advised that bright lights should be avoided. The level of sleep a person gets at midnight, particularly, determines how active he or she feels the following day as well as affects personal productivity. Lack of sleep can cause daytime sleepiness and this obviously affects the day's activities. By contrast, a good night rest increases the energy level and also clears the mind and keeps the brain active for the next day's work. Research has shown that people who stay awake all night or only sleep for less than 8 hours, wake up feeling very tired, lazy and unmotivated to carry out their daily routines, for example. Therefore, it advised that to maximize how much sleep one could get, bright lights should be turned off. However, if an individual prefers to sleep in an illuminated place, then preferable it should be dim. Alternatively, eye pads should be used to cover the eyes in order to prevent the penetration of the light rays. Specifically, for the geriatric population, studies conducted explained that this category set should take rest in bedrooms that have poor lightening as they naturally get less sleep and easily aroused. Another investigation reported that exposure to mobile phone or laptop screens can also keep the person awake, thereby decreasing the sleep quality. In conclusion, to circumvent the increased rate of reduced strength and sleepiness during the hours of the day, it is clearly advised that retiring off at midnight should be done in dark rooms and also putting off smartphones or computers before going to bed as this would obviously improve the general well-being of the person in the morning.