Environmental hazards are often too great for particular countries or individuals to tackle. We have arrived at a point in time where the only way to lessen environmental problems is at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that severe problems on the environment are now too far to be tackled by countries and the population and they become worldwide issues. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea and the reasons will be discussed before reaching my conclusion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that some environmental hazards cannot be eased by particular countries and individuals but it needs the collaboration of international countries. There are several problems that cause conflict between neighbours. To illustrate, one of the problems is dust or haze which comes from burning waste and litter and it flies over to the transborder of countries near the burning location. Even if neighbour countries try to negotiate or set up meetings to address this issue together, they still do not come to an agreement. Therefore, they need a third party to come and help them convince and negotiate which leads to a consensus between neighbours. On the other hand, the rise of the environmental hazards can still be controlled by the governments and their citizens. In fact, these issues are a result of unenforced policies from the authorities which in turn people are not afraid of being taken penalties or sentences. For instance, citizens acknowledge the existence of penalties when burn debris or refuse off-season, however, they still ignore it because they know that there is no one coming to arrest them. Hence, the authorities should strictly use their regulations or put measures in place in order to reduce the problems before they cause more effects to the world. All in all, a lot of hazardous problems in the environment are now hard to address by countries and their people. From my point of view, I slightly disagree with this aspect as some issues can be relieved and alleviated inside their countries easily by utilising their existing regulations strictly on citizens to control their actions.