Individuals can do nothing to change society. Any new developments can only be brought about by governments and large institutions. How far do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that individuals are helpless in altering the public and that, furthermore, growth can only be triggered by governments and big establishments. While there is a grain of truth to that, to a certain extent, I am of the opinion that a modification of any community will necessarily start, first and foremost, with a person. If the citizenry is ready for and are supportive of it, then it will come easily. On the contrary, a bloody revolution might ensue if they are against it. This essay will expound on this. Any remodelling of culture needs to start with its members; thus, if the members are willing, then the refashioning will happen quickly. For example, in what was dubbed as the Edsa revolution in the Philippines, not a single blood was shed, an old government was replaced by a new one since the residents were ripe for it. In the same way, a more recent movement was initiated by a single woman who divulged that she was sexually abused by a famous personality. It gathered momentum and although at first the women were hesitant to go against that powerful person, the transformation ultimately succeeded. Any reform without the support of individuals will likely be faced by a bloody revolution. Without the support of individuals, the authorities may have to resort to the use of force which will precipitate civil unrest. To illustrate, in a country in Southeast Asia, the military suddenly took over the reins of the government and replaced the newly-elected head of the country. Furthermore, it declared martial law and imposed restrictions on the civil liberties of its people. Not expecting it, the residents were shocked, fought against it, and to be specific, bloody street demonstrations ensued which resulted in mass violence. To conclude, although the authorities and big institutions may have the capability to initiate the transformation of a culture, it is equally important that the citizenry are willing and supportive of the proposed reform for it to be accomplished. In studies conducted by political experts, it has been established that a remaking of civilization is best resolved through peaceful means.