Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Modern communication has benefited the global world through its technology. Different modes of innovative communication channels have resulted in limited use of letters all over the world. Today, in every sector of our society, the use of modern tools of communication have rapidly grown and have superseded the use of letters to a large extent. Given the fact that modern communication has overcome usage of the letters, I agree modern communication has made letter writing redundant in our society: Firstly, through advancement in communication channels, time consumed for information to travel from one source to another has reduced sharply. As a matter of fact, people are now able to convey messages to their loved ones, irrespective of their locations in a blink of an eye thus nullifying the distance factor involved in any distant communication. Whereas the use of letters implied that people would have to wait for days in order to get a reply back against their letters. For instance, through Whatsapp, users can make calls and send messages anywhere in the world with less time consumption involved. Secondly, the use of paper has decreased recently due to the fact that every year, a plethora of trees are bought down for the paper manufacturing process. Since trees are considered an essential tool of nature in clamping down on global warming, therefore, many environmental activists emphasize tree conservation by limiting the use of papers in our daily lives. For instance, workplaces and business organizations all around the world now heavily focus on the application of e-mail for communication purposes rather than the use of traditional letters and memos in the workplace. In conclusion, modern communication has become an integral part of our society and has replaced the application of letters to a great extent. Moreover, the numerous benefits of the latest communication channels have largely impacted the preference of people's choice when it comes to the mode of communication.