Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is the case? What can be done to attract local people?

It is often seen that cultural heritage hotspots are mostly popular amongst outer visitors, not the locals. I believe there are reasons for this phenomenon and I will discuss some possible measures to invite local participants. The most manifest cause of this trend is that cultural attractions are fascinating to guests from different cultures. By way of example, travellers from Europe find Japan a great destination with the authentic traditional culture of architectures, performance and artworks. Similarly, people from Asian countries, enjoy the castles and cityscape in Spain or France. Furthermore, ordinary people have learned and seen their own antiques while studying and living, therefore, less motivation to go those venues where are crowded with foreign tourists. In Taiwan, for instance, lots of historic works are regularly exhibited in smaller culture centres and even in subway stations. However, I believe there are various approaches to engaging local residents. First and foremost, historical places and museums could link the masses to cultural objects through well-designed events and exhibitions. The national palace museum of Taiwan, for example, had several special exhibitions on the subject of modern society such as social networking with ancient paintings and letters and successfully gained popularity among the young. Another workable means is to foster locals to participate in cultural activities as a guide for tourist. Through workshops for guides, residents could digest the in-depth dimension of their own heritage and further bond themselves to their home town. In conclusion, since locals may be reluctant to entail in culture, the governments should include local inhabitants into the operation plan of museums and historical sites to lead a sustainable flourishing future of cultural heritage.