Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to meet this demand?

Food consumption is surging all around the world. In this essay, the main cause will be analised and some solutions will be suggested in order to deal with this situation. It is a known fact that the overall population is increasing in number. At the beginning of the last century we were no more than 2 billion people, while nowadays we are almost 9 billion. This, is because the rate of birth far outnumber the one of death, leading to an inevitable overpopulation. For this reason we will soon have a problem between production and consuption of food. However, in the last decade more and more companies are investing part of their budget to find new ways to produce more food ad to do it more efficiently. The are two main options to deal with this issue. First, we need to produce more food, secondly we need to find solutions to avoid to waste it. For example, developed countries should invest more money in vertical farms which will allow us to increase the production of certain kind of products such as tomatoes and potatoes, without the need of vast agricultural field which are already scarse in many countries around the world. On the other hand, we need to minimise the wastage of fresh vegetables or meat. Therefore, one solution could be a mass media campain directed to the whole population in order to sensitise people towards a more sustainable way of shopping at the supermarket to be able to reduce the incredible amount of food that we throw in the bin everyday. In conclusion, overpopulation is the main factor that contribute to the increase demand for food, pherhaps every country should take action investing in more technological infrastructures for food production and marketing strategies to tackle this concern. This, will lead to a more sustainable world and hopefully there won't be any food shortage.