Write about the following topic: Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

With multiple wars happening all around the world, the recruitment of people to enter the army has become a highly debated topic. Some individuals argue that serving the military should be an obligation for both men and women, while others refuse this idea. In this essay I will especify the reasons why I do not agree with compulsory military service. It is unarguable that not everyone is healthy enough to become a soldier. Even if the individual is physically athletic, the mental state of a person might not be sufficiently strong to cope with war scenarios. Forcing this could lead to depression, anxiety, post traumatic disorder and eventually even suicide. The USA, for example, face a very large group of soldiers in treatment for psychiatric conditions nowadays. This leads to higher health-care costs, less working force and a possibly lower national development rate. Secondly, compulsory feminine work could have even worse results. Depending on how long they must work for in the armed forces, recruiting women after school age could lead them to postpone pregnancies which might impact massively on birth rates. In long term, the population of the country could shrink, which is exactly the opposite of what the military service aims for: protecting the nation and its growth. To conclude, I believe that governments should not impose to its population to become a part of the armed forces since this could harm its population on an irreparable way. In order to establish a competent army, governments should offer good salaries and protection to the ones that decide to serve their country.