It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

A new trend of taking a year gap in the midst of completing school and enrolling into higher studies is common nowadays. Sometimes it seems more beneficial to utilize this interim period by roaming around to refresh the mind to have a more enthusiastic start in schooling. On the contrary, this interruption might be a reason for loss of interest, attention, and perseverance, which are the rudimentary element for studying. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the study gap. After a long journey of school life, undergraduates might get tired of the monotonous routine of life, which can be lessened by taking time off from studies. Some can invest the term into their interests, such as painting, singing, dancing, etc.; others can devote it to developing proficiency which can add some value in the future, for example, advanced computer, technical and presentation skills. It has been revealed by a survey that 60% of the students who take a year before admitted into the university exploited this precious time into voluntary works as well as world tour which later enhanced their level of understating the reality and broaden their horizon of knowledge. Thus, it could be the finest choice of a student if the best utilization of the period can be ensured. Presently, so many options for entertainment are open for us; for an adolescent, it seems pretty challenging to choose the right or wrong accurately among those; besides, a wrong choice can lead to an erroneous path in this vulnerable period. Youths can be overwhelmed by the freedom and get accustomed to an undisciplined life which can attract so much that they can be unable to find interest in the study with a routine life again. For instance, statistics show that about 70% of the dropout students were initially enjoying a relaxed year before their higher studies, and some ended up having unwanted habits also. In conclusion, today’s practice of enjoying the free time before going to university might come with a huge bunch of experience or can be a cause of regret for the rest of the life; both incidents can occur depending on the usage of time. Therefore, as per my opinion, to minimize the risk of discontinuing study, students should avoid the choice of taking a break amid studying.