Some people believe it is important to give gifts and presents to friends and family to show that we care about them. Others think that there are better ways to show affection to them. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Some think that giving presents and gifts to friends and family is important to demonstrate our care for them. Others believe that there are better alternatives to show a good attitude to them. I personally think that gifts can play a crucial role in the creation of long-lasting and positive relationships. On the one hand, there are different forms of showing one's attitude to another person and these are not limited by materialistic things. It means that a person can feel the importance and significance in the lives of others from the words and actions of other people. Moreover, being social creatures, an individual can almost immediately determine the intentions of surroundings. For instance, a proper attitude is more important for some women than flowers and sweets as actions can be more valuable than presents. On the other hand, the tradition of giving presents to close ones comes from many centuries. It is one of the ancient ways of demonstrating respect and a positive attitude in a vast number of cultures around the globe. Even though that this approach is among the oldest ones, in my opinion, it is still effective. For example, recent social surveys revealed that modern people receive the same positive emotions when getting presents as people 3 decades ago. In conclusion, while some think that there are better ways to show affection to close ones than giving presents, I believe that such a tradition is still effective in terms of demonstrating our care about friends and family. I would recommend buying gifts even on regular days without any reason.