Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

A number of major cities in the world are faced with the problem of overpopulation. This is mainly caused by the lack of employment opportunities in rural areas as well as better access to facilities in urban areas. There are some solutions to tackle this issue. Firstly, one obvious reason that cities are overly populated is that they provide people with ample opportunities for securing higher-paying jobs. In other words, because many businesses are based in urban districts, workers relocate to those areas in search of better jobs, and therefore, a better standard of living. Another explanation for overcrowding in major cities is the better availability and access to educational and medical facilities, which undoubtedly benefits everyone, ensuring better health and future prospects for children. There are several measures that can be taken to deal with this issue. One effective solution is for the government to offer incentives to citizens who live in towns that have smaller populations. For example, giving housing allowances would encourage individuals to stay or move to regional areas. In addition, actively promoting life in the countryside can also have a positive impact on mitigating overpopulation. This can be implemented by both the government and the media, such as organising tourism campaigns or simply increasing media coverage. In conclusion, several factors can be observed that lead people to opt for city life, namely employment and advanced institutions. However, if the governments and industries take initiatives to make rural communities appealing, this problem will certainly be alleviated.