The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Owing to the development of instant foods, people have been able to save time at home as they do not have to cook, which is beneficial in the fast-paced modern society. There are more plus points than drawbacks to this trend in terms of wider options convenience food offers. Firstly, there are obvious advantages to having convenience food, one of which is that it reduces the time people spend on preparing meals. In other words, because convenience food can be prepared in a considerably short amount of time, people are left with more time they can use for themselves, such as engaging in hobbies, playing sports or taking a long bath, leading to better mental well-being. Another benefit is that convenience food provides people with more opportunities to try different cuisines easily and at affordable prices, which brings more joy to eating. With regard to the disadvantages of instant meals, one clear downside is the negative health impact they could cause, as they contain a large amount of additives and preservatives. Some of these chemicals are considered to be carcinogenic, therefore increase the risk of ill health. In addition, the prevalence of convenience food could result in a loss of traditional cuisine in the culture. Instant meals are so convenient that more and more individuals choose not to cook as often as before, which means the consumption of well-prepared local meals becomes limited. If we weigh the pros and cons of convenience food, the positives are more significant than the negatives. The reason for this is that it has broadened the food options people can choose from. Despite the potential health risks, being able to cut back on time for cooking can mitigate the stress that comes with the busy schedules of modern-day workers. In conclusion, convenience food carries some disadvantages mainly related to health. However, the advantages certainly outweigh the negatives.