Every country has poor people and every country has different ways of dealing with the poor. What are some of the reasons for world poverty? How can the poor be helped?

Poverty is prevailing in all countries across the world and is being dealt with in many ways. In my viewpoint, unemployment and illiteracy are the potential factors that contribute to this situation. Even though there are a humungous number of people below the poverty line, such circumstances can be reduced by providing free schooling and creating career opportunities. Firstly, there are two noticeable reasons behind scarcity, and illiteracy being the most contributing one. If people are not educated or skilled, it is difficult for them to secure work that provides a stable revenue. Since most of the poor are illiterates, they can only perform menial jobs and earn meagre wages. This leads to unemployment which is the second reason behind destitution. Manual labour does not offer work security and as a result, the poor remain jobless for months. For instance, a survey of BPL in India says that, without schooling, there is no job, without a job, there is no income, and without an income, there is no proper education, creating a vicious circle of poverty. To combat this problem of destitution, two viable solutions are available. Firstly, free education should be provided to all citizens regardless of their background. The entire population may not graduate out of this scheme. However, most of them will become literate and qualify for some standard jobs such as those of industry workers which can get them a steady pay as well as experience for better jobs in future. Secondly, a good number of work opportunities should be created by the government to help the needy. For example, scavengers are required everywhere. If they are employed directly by the government, the needy get an opportunity to receive a constant income from a secured job. In conclusion, unemployment and illiteracy are the most obvious factors causing a shortage. However, the vicious circle can be interrupted by generating numerous career opportunities as well as providing free education to the destitute.