137. Learning in one’s native tongue yields better school scores than learning in a medium language. Do you agree or disagree? Argue your point of view.

A child is capable of learning any language; however, the one which is frequently used for communication becomes the primary language or mother tongue. For this reason, some sections of society believe that learning in one's mother tongue can help to achieve better grades in school as compared to learning in a medium language. I strongly concur with this notion and will explain my standpoint in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, the fundamental reason why a child score much better when taught in a regional language is that it is easier and quicker to grasp the information. To be precise, children are more familiar with the words that were used for communication in their initial years so if the same language is used in the school then they are able to absorb the information quickly.To illustrate, a recent study conducted by the Child Psychologist Association in India demonstrated that students who were taught mathematics concepts in their native language were able to score more marks than those who were explained the same concepts in their non-native language. Hence, explaining the concepts in the regional language can improve the scores of the students in various subjects. Furthermore, when children are taught about the history, traditions and customs of a region then they will be able to relate things in a better manner if explained in regional language.To elaborate, there are some words specific to a particular place that can be sometimes difficult to explain in a non-native language. For instance, food item names such as "Amritsari naan" in Punjab represent Amritsar's speciality in that cuisine which can be explained better in the mother tongue. Therefore, it can be said that learning in the native tongue can be crucial for a juvenile to explore and understand the customs of a region. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, I would like to infer that the native language plays a paramount role in educational organisations. Although other languages are also crucial to be taught for example English, it is essential that students are able to understand the concepts better when conversed in their native tongue which eventually increases their marks.