Some people think that success is the best measure for intelligence, while others think that intelligence can be measured in other ways. What is your opinion?

It is considered by some that the best way to measure someone’s intelligence is to see whether they are successful in society, while there are others who believe that other methods are more accurate. In my opinion, I think that success cannot be the best measurement as it involves extrinsic factors regardless of the type of intelligence measured. Firstly, with regard to the types of intelligence related to academics such as logical, mathematical, and verbal abilities, conducting standardised tests is the most effective measure to take. This is not only because they are created by experts in an evidence-based way, but also because test takers are not affected by the environment when taking an exam. For example, most people are familiar with the IQ test as one of the most common ways to check people’s academic competence. In terms of musical and artistic abilities, it is almost impossible to measure intelligence by success as in these areas, factors not associated with a person’s qualities play significantly important roles in success. Examples of these aspects include societal values, trends in the industry and how artists are promoted in the media. For instance, even if a person is musically intelligent, that does not necessarily follow that they can be successful in the field. Therefore, measures such as evaluation by professionals are more effective. In conclusion, an individual’s success cannot indicate their high level of intelligence, since it is affected by external elements to a large extent. My own view is that methods, where these elements are eliminated, are more accurate.