Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a postive or negative trend?

In this globalized world, trade has been flourished and many countries import and export their product. This trend is also in the food sector; therefore, the food self sufficiency rate is decreasing in many states. In the following essay, I would argue that this might be a negative trend. First of all, there is a high risk of insufficient food production. For example, the Japanese food self sufficiency rate is 38% in 2020. Since this is a low proportion, it is conveyed as a serious situation on newspapers or TV news programs. According to them, in some case such as natural disaster or any emergency, the import from the other nations might be stopped. As a consequence, the citizens would experience deficiency of the provisions and in the worst case, a large number of people will starve to death. Fortunately, Japan is not in that situation yet, but there is a risk in deed. To sum up, to rely heavily on other nations’ supply is dangerous. Second of all, on the other hand, it might be beneficial for consumers who only want immediate profit. Typically, products that is mass-produced in foreign countries and imported are cheaper than those produced in their own nations. This means that the poor layer of society may find it advantageous to have cheaper products. However, this is just a optimistic perspective and might not helpful for society. In my conclusion, there is a high risk of deficiency in an emergency even it is beneficial for an immediate profit. Therefore, I believe that the trend that countries do not produce food in their states is negative.