Some people think that cars should be banned in big city centres. Do you agree or disagree?

One of the most debated issues today relates to prohibiting automobiles from entering large cities. I totally disagree with this view owing to the reasons which will be explicated in greater detail in this essay. On the one hand, people debate that the merits of stopping people from driving their cars in the huge city centres outweigh the disadvantages. The primary reason for this is the toxic substances that are emitted by the cars. Besides, when harmful fumes are produced, they cause greenhouse effect, thus leading to global warming. Additionally, when cars are driven in metropolises, they lead to perpetual traffic jams. Furthermore if there is gridlock, it leads to loss of productive time because people will not get to work on time; hence affecting the economy in the cosmopolitan city. On the other hand, although this argument has some valid points, the opposing case can as well be made. Some people feel that cars are the most convenient and fastest means of transport in the cities. For instance, a recent survey conducted in the UK found that more than 50% of corporate executives chose to drive a car to work as it saved time and made them more efficient. In addition to this, electric automobiles can take the place of conventional gasoline cars because they are environmentally friendly as they do not emit toxic materials; therefore, they are not detrimental to the human health and the environment. After having elucidated the pertinent points on this issue, I strongly opine that the disadvantages of banning automobiles significantly outweigh the advantages. Hence cars should not be banned from city centres.