In some countries a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A highly controversial issue regarding salaries today is split into two different views: whether the government should have control over and limit the earnings of people or to allow groups of the community to earn extremely high salaries in comparison to the rest of the society. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then explain my stance on this matter. There are people who argue that the benefits of being able to earn more than six figures in their jobs, create an environment for those who have ambitions to work harder not only for the good of themselves but also for the overall good of society. But this notion is considerably outweighed its disadvantages. The main reason why people would want the ability to make high salaries without being controlled by the government is the freedom it entails in life. People could easily live lavishly and an overall contemporary lifestyle without having to worry about their finances. It is also possible to say that having a higher salary than the rest of the society allows for a higher standing status in comparison to the rest. One good illustration of this is the people who are capable of inventing great things in many different aspects of life but not doing it due to the lack of appreciation and rewarding. On the other hand, many believe that inequality of salary is responsible for almost every challenging and destructive consequences of life itself. People often have this opinion because they feel stressed out, exhausted from almost everything that life brings to them. A second point is that people have lost the trust of their own people and the inevitable competition in every phase of their lives. It feels like they are running a marathon for their whole lives. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their strong points. On balance, however, I feel that today’s systems, governments and the dynamics of the business world are starting to make life harder rather than supposedly making it easier with their complexity for all of us.