Motorways help people travel quickly and cover long distances, but they also cause problems.What are the problems of motorways and what solutions are there.

Nowadays, motorways are considered as an essential transport infrastructure that has been heavily constructed in many countries. Although these highways allow long-distance travel and goods transport to become more convenient, many people still worry about their adverse impacts. This essay will discuss the potential problems brought about by the motorways and give feasible solutions. Firstly, the construction of motorways, especially those inter-city ones, has detrimental effects on the natural environment. For example, the route of motorways may go through some natural woodlands, which lead to extensive logging of trees. This also results in deforestation and loss of biodiversity, as many wildlifes' habitats are destroyed by freeway construction activities. Besides, although highways contribute to more cost-saving delivery of goods and commuting, they encourage the use of patrol vehicle at the same time. It is fairly true that air pollution and climate change are largely due to the emission of detrimental and greenhouse gases by automobiles. However, these problems are not unsolvable thanks to the technological advances in the geography and energy fields. To avoid and minimize the impacts that can be brought to the natural habitats, researchers and planners can adopt many geographical tools, such as GIS and satellite maps to help them choose suitable routes. Furthermore, many governments are now pouring more tax credits and subsidies to promote the introduction and adoption of green vehicles which can use renewable energies, such as solar energy and electricity. In conclusion, motorways are now the most common infrastructure in almost every cities. Although it can potentially cause many side effects to the natural environment, many modern technologies can be employed to deal with these problems.